Powered By Blogger

Tuesday, 17 November 2015

Is it rape if you enjoyed it?


First and foremost I would like to emphatically make it clear that I don’t condone, support any form of rape what so ever. It is a very shameful and disgusting act that deserves severe punishment
I have come to realize that traumatic events have entirely different effects on different genders (and in my case different society).
Growing up I was an extremely shy boy who couldn’t even say Hi back when a girl says Hi to me. That was about to change. We had these neighbors, a family of 4 girls. They were so beautiful and fair in complexion ( they were from the South-South). I had a huge crush on them which they all thought was cute and teased me about it with mock-fights amongst themselves on who was the ‘special one’. I was particularly fond of the eldest one and she adored me also. I always got special treatment from her which even her siblings were sometimes envious of….the little rewards I got for being a good boy. It was all innocent until the day she kissed me for passing my CommonEntrance exam and offered admission into 3 different schools.
I was on cloud 9 for weeks until I finally went to boarding house and came back on vacation.
Things weren’t the same between us again and she accused me of ‘changing towards her’. I tried to amend things by hanging out with her and taking stroles with her around the neighborhood where she boldly flaunted my as her boyfriend. I automatically became the Prince. All the. Egbons in the area started buying me gifts just to get her attention.
Yes, she was way older than me. I was just 11.
I started developing confidence and even girls my age began showing interest in me. When she noticed a girl flirting with me and my being oblivious she started teaching me how to deal with girls ‘Hands On’.
We ‘practiced’ a lot of things from smooching to giving head (both ways). We didn’t have actual intercourse until much later. By the time my mates were having their first kiss I was already far versed.
Everything ended when we moved away shaa!!!
My girlfriend says what my neighbor did was terrible as she believes it has turned me into a nymphomaniac. I on the other hand believe I owe everything I know today about pleasing a woman to her.
This whole argument started while we watched THE PERKS OF BEING A WALLFLOWER and I criticized the effects such a thing had on the boy.
Was it RAPE since I was a conceding partner.



Malbak Oscar

posted from Bloggeroid

How to Recognize a Wack Nigerian Song



My being a Nigerian youth makes me an authority in identifying wack songs. So I write this article based on the experience I’ve garnered listening to the ‘junk’ which most Nigerian musicians churn out these days in the name of songs.

Here are 10 tips which will aid the average listener in identifying a wack song or ‘non hit wonder.’

1) ‘Girl Shake your asset/ukwu/bum bum/baka/ booty or, the way you they wine’

This phrase is self explanatory. So I’ll just go to the next

2) ‘Before dem they call me monkey’

Dear artiste, you probably look like a monkey, and people are just stating things the way they see it, don’t take it personal, don’t feel slighted and please don’t use it in a song. It’s plain monkeish.

3) ‘The girls now call me honey’

This goes hand in hand with ‘before they call me monkey’. Totally stupid phrase. So predictable also. Has been so overused no one can stand it anymore, please stop. No more abeg.

4) ‘Ibadi ni jo wa’

It’s like other parts of the body do not matter to our musicians. They all seem to focus on the butt. One can blame them though; God knew what he was doing when he created that part of the body. But someone needs to ask our artistes to focus on another part of the body. Ask us to dance with our elbows or something…

5) ‘Baby’

We can allow this since it is better than hoes or bitches. Some of us are getting tired of most musicians referring to every girl as ‘baby’ its no longer cool.

6) I can die for you

This is obviously a lie. After Jesus Christ, there is absolutely no human being that can die as a result of the romantic feelings he or she has for someone. This stated, I see no reason why this in should be included in any song.

7) I pop bottles/champagne/Moet/Hennessey e.t.c

There is this clip making the rounds of a wannabe music star shooting a video and one of the models ‘mistakenly’ popped a bottle of champagne that they were showcasing. The star’s reaction was priceless! As in, I’ve never laughed so hard in my life. The so called star immediately went ballistic! Accusing the model of trying to ruin him because apparently, he borrowed the bottles and he was supposed to return them untouched. Alas, some of our musicians are in the class of the star in the story above. If you can’t afford to pop the Hennessey you shamelessly mention in your songs, abeg leave that line out. It’s not by force.

8) I get money/mula/pepper/dollars/pounds

Sigh… Another obvious point. On to the next one.

9) All ma lay lay lay lay lay lay lay ladies

When the first musician used this phrase, it was kinda cool. But when every Tom Dick and Harry started infusing it in his or her song, it became un cool. Dear copy copy artiste, find your own phrase and stick with it.

10) Unnecessary rhyming

This is not a phrase per say, but when a musician rhymes likes this:

“My girl uses the best cream

So I had to reward her with ice cream

Then off we went to the stream

Living out our lives like it’s a dream”

What else can you do but judge the musician, the song, his record label and those affiliated with him as wack?

What other phrases do you think makes a song wack? Let us know in the comments section.

This article was written by Calliope. Calliope is an in the closet OAP, Media lover, Muse, Literature enthusiast, PR consultant and blogger.

posted from Bloggeroid